Utah Carry and Conceal Permit

The number of concealed carry holders across the United States is higher than ever, in fact concealed carry holders in the past ten years has more than doubled.  The process of obtaining a conceal carry permit can take time to figure out.  But this article lists step by step instructions to apply for a Utah conceal carry permit.

First Steps Before Applying

The state of Utah has a few requirements for people to fulfill before an application for a conceal carry license is submitted.  Weapon Familiarity Certification. Applicants are required to complete a firearms familiarity course certified by BCI. The course must be completed before you apply for a permit. Ensure your instructor completes the certification information on the application (link to application is below). Utah has many different weapons courses you can take for your certification.

I would highly recommend getting your certification from Ready Gunner (this is a link to sign up for the course).  The course costs just $5, where as most places charge $20 or more. In addition they have great reviews. Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (this is a link to sign up) is also a great place to get your conceal carry permit.  Both of these courses will provide fingerprints and a photo that is required to complete your application.  Below is a list of additional certified instructors

(in-state)(out-of-state) certified instructors.

Once your conceal carry class is completed, now you can work on submitting the application.

Documents & Information to include in application?

  • A Photocopy of your state issued Driver License
  • Photograph. One recent color photograph. Photos may be taken at the Bureau of Criminal Identification for a $15 fee, or through your weapons familiarity certification course.  I recommend getting your photo taken through the courses listed above (Ready Gunner or Utah Concealed Firearm Permit).
  • Fingerprints. A finger print card must be completed. Click here for an example. You can get your finger prints taken at the Bureau of Criminal Identification (801-965-4445), local law enforcement agency, or a private agency.  I recommend having your fingerprints taken through ready gunner or Utah Concealed Firearm Permit when you take your course.  The cost of having your finger prints taken is typically $15.
  • Non-resident proof of permit. If you reside in a state that recognizes the Utah CFP or has reciprocity with Utah, you must obtain a CFP or CCW from your home state and submit a copy of it with your application for a Utah permit. For a list of reciprocal states click here. You are considered a resident of the state that issued your ID. If your state does not recognize the Utah permit this does not apply to you.

You may download an application here.

Where to Submit Application?

Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84129

Applications will be accepted through the mail or in person, from 8:00 am until 5:00 pm at the above location.  When the application is submitted in person it can speed up the process by two weeks.

What Will it Cost to Apply?

The fees to apply for a concealed firearm permit are $57.00 for Utah residents and $67.00 for non-residents.  You can make checks and money orders payable to the “Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification.”

Who is Eligible?

*Minimum requirements for application for a concealed firearms permit in Utah (Stated by the BCI):

Proof of good character…whereas the applicant;

  • has not been convicted of a felony;
    • has not been convicted of any crime of violence;
    • has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol;
    • has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances;
    • has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude;
    • has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence;
    • has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed
    • is qualified to purchase and possess a firearm pursuant to Section 76-10-503 and federal law

Applicant must be at least 21 years of age

A criminal background check is conducted for all applicants.


How Long Does it Take to Get My Conceal Carry Permit?

The Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation has 60 days from the time they  process your application. They often complete your application much sooner. Depending on the amount of applications submitted, time varies. But expect the permit to be completed and shipped out in 60 days.  Dropping off the conceal carry permit in person to the address above can reduce the time by two weeks.

Recent Content